Brilliant Women, Movies and Current Reads

Hello lovelies!

Happy Women’s Day to all women of the world!

Each of you are special, beautiful and strong in your own way, and that itself is something to be very proud about.

Currently in the uni library typing this, and it’s been amazing. These few days or weeks? Has it been weeks since I last wrote here? Oh dear. How I’ve lost track of time. HAHA. But it’s been pretty well being able to do something other than just staying home.

I just watched ‘The Royal Tenenbaums (Wes Anderson, 2001) today in film studies lecture. Last week’s study was on ‘Cinema Paradiso’ which I absolutely love. Got me in tears of all kinds of emotions. And today, well knowing that my heart strings can be so easily pulled, ‘The Royal Tenenbaums’ got me in tears once more.

It is now officially listed as one of my favourite movies and I absolutely am in love in it. I loved how quirky the movie and storyline was, as well as the whole family oriented theme the movie was. If I have the chance, I’d really love to get my hands on the book and read it. It’s so much more fun to read on books in my opinion. You get to literally see into the minds of the characters. Kind of intrusive; however, they are in fact fictional characters which I really do suppose they wouldn’t mind. What’s more is you can’t read into someone’s mind in your everyday life. A big yay to that then. Plus there’s a whole lot of famous stars inside that show, so for those of you who’d like a really light hearted, comedic show filled with family values and love, this is the show for you. 🙂

Also, I’m currently putting on hold of my read on Pride and Prejudice and starting my read on…… Anna Karenina. I watched the 2012 movie adaptation last month and am completely obsessed wothe the characters and storyline of it. Leo Tolstoy is a genius. Pure genius. It’s amazing that he is able to write characters with such depth and have several storylines running parallel with each other, and what more in contrast as well.

Having to watch the movie and read the book later makes me realize so much tiny details and insights that I have missed about the characters. It’s kind of like a tug of war because at times I love Anna, while in the book I hate her. I hate her deceptiveness and her duality. But I understand her situation and at the same time very much drawn toward her flaws.

Vronsky, on the other hand, I don’t know whether to see him as an asshole or a pure romantic who just can’t let go of his love. Or was it love … or lust?

Karenin. Well, I’ve never really liked him. He couldn’t give any time of the day for his family. It’s always duty and meetings with him. No wonder he could let Anna slip through his fingers. But who’s to blame him when he did no certain wrong? It was only his misfortune that his wife loathes him.

Levin and Kitty. Ah, pure love. Simple love. That’s what it was portrayed. Nothing passionate, very straightforward. No lies, no nothing. It’s very happy indeed. But I love the sparks in romantic relationships, which I see none of it in theirs but all of it in Anna and Vronsky’s. Although it doesn’t last, you can always spark it up if you’re with the right person eh?

There’s just so many characters that can be studied on. So much to know of the why and how of their reactions and personality. It’s like an obsession of mine to investigate each and everyone of them. HAHA. Do I sound a little crazy now? :3

Anyhow, I’m going off. Write back in a bit.

Loves.

“I’m like a starving man who has been given food. Maybe he’s cold, and his clothes are torn, and he’s ashamed, but he’s not unhappy.”

                                                                         -Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina

Leave a Reply

